Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis issues stay-at-home order amid coronavirus outbreak


Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis and Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf issued statewide orders Wednesday mandating all residents to stay at home during the coronavirus outbreak. They join New York, New Jersey, California and Washington — all among the hardest hit by the spread of COVID-19 — in implementing restrictions on people’s movements as an attempt to keep the virus from spreading further. 

The U.S. has the most coronavirus cases of any country, according to data compiled by Johns Hopkins University, with more than 190,000 confirmed cases of the virus and at least 4,100 deaths. 

With the majority of states instituting stay-at-home orders, more restrictions are expected be implemented this week. Here are the states that announced restrictions Wednesday. This list will be updated throughout the day:

Pennsylvania extends stay-at-home order to entire state

GP: Gov. Tom Wolf speaks in front of Bellefonte Area High School on July 13, 2015 in Bellefonte, Pa.

Nabil K. Mark | Centre Daily Times | Tribune News Service via Getty Images

Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf issued a statewide stay-at-home order Wednesday that will last until at least April 30, according to the Associated Press. Previously, only select counties in Pennsylvania were under stay-at-home orders from the governor. The new order goes into effect Wednesday at 8:00 pm.

“We appreciate the shared sacrifice of all 12.8 million Pennsylvanians; we are in this together,” Wolf said in a statement.

Residents can leave their homes for essential reasons such as getting food or medicine, or caring for a sick relative. 

Pennsylvania currently has 4,994 confirmed cases of the coronavirus, according to data compiled by Johns Hopkins University. 

Florida residents told to remain at home

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis talks during a news conference at the Broward County mobile testing site at CB Smith Park in Pembroke Pines, Fla., on March 19, 2020.

David Santiago | Miami Herald | Getty Images

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis issued an executive order Wednesday requiring residents to remain at home. Only certain parts of Florida had stay-at-home orders prior the the statewide order. The new policy goes into effect Thursday night at midnight. 

“Even though there’s a lot of places in Florida with very low infection rates, it makes sense to make this move now,” DeSantis said at a press briefing Wednesday.

He said that he had consulted with President Donald Trump about implementing a stay-at-home order. He explained that the CDC’s decision to extend its guidelines 30 more days convinced him to make the decision because it “clearly represents, effectively, a national pause.” 

Residents will still be able to leave their homes for essential reasons. DeSantis said senior citizens should take special care to stay at home amid the outbreak. 

Florida currently has 6,955 confirmed cases of the coronavirus, according to data compiled by the state. 


Source link