New York, New Jersey and other northeastern states form coronavirus working group to decide when to ease restrictions


New York Governor Andrew Cuomo (D) speaks at a press Conference at the State Capitol.

Michael Brochstein | Barcroft Media | Getty Images

New York, New Jersey and four other northeastern states are forming a working group to keep a close watch on the coronavirus outbreak throughout the region and coordinate plans to reopen parts of the economy in those states.

Each state will name a public health and economic official that will jointly decide when to start easing restrictions designed to curb the Covid-19 outbreak, taking into account both public health and economic concerns, New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo said in a press conference Monday.

“State boundaries mean very little to this virus,” Cuomo said. “We started this journey together and we’re going to end it together.” 

New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy, who joined on the conference call, said an economic recovery can begin only after there’s a complete health care recovery.

They were joined by Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont, Delaware Gov. John Carney, Rhode Island Gov. Gina Raimondo and Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf.

The governors, led by Cuomo, announced the coronavirus group hours after President Donald Trump claimed in a tweet that he, not state leaders, has the power to decide when to “open up” country. 

This is breaking news. Check back here for updates.


Source link